“Disqualifications for office: First, any person who shall deny the being of almighty God.”

Credits: Atheist Media Blog.

As of 2009, apparently seven states (Arkansas, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas) still have constitutions that deny public office to atheists despite that the United States Constitution clearly states that no religion shall be used as qualification for office.


Leave a comment

Filed under Politics, Religion

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s